09
Jul
09

Dear Mom…

I typed the following letter on my phone earlier tonite…

<19:34>

Dear Mom,

I’m sitting in the back of my car in the parking lot where you used to park when you would go dry clothes on Sunday night. I remember one time when I drove you here and got a call during the ride. You got so mad that I answered the phone while driving. From that point I always hated when people would unnecessarily answer their phones in public and have conversations. Pretense is high when you do that, but I have to admit that I’m guilty of doing it myself lately. I remember playing Metal Slug on the NEO GEO in the laundromat while you dried all of our clothes and towels. I miss basking in the solitude that that place afforded us. We just moved the washer and dryer over to uncle Leon’s house, where pop will be moving into soon. He’s been staying with me since you left.

I smoke a lot now, a shitload. I take drags for you cuz I don’t know if they let you smoke in heaven. I’ve had 3 since I start

<19:49>

(CONT)…since I started typing this letter to you. People walk by and say, “hi” or “watup.” I don’t think they can see me crying cuz I’m wearing dark shades (Rolando gave them to me the other day). He got a new ride – pretty nice. I know you wanted me to get a reliable car, but mine’s all good. You’ll be happy to know that my AC’s now fixed. But, I still air condition Mira Mesa cuz I like rolling with the windows down and the AC on.

I’m drinking an iced coffee, which is sitting right next to me here in the back of the whip. The lady who I usually get it from asked me out of nowhere today, “are you okay?” I guess it’s mad obvious that I’m down.

I’m back at work on the regular now, mainly cuz I need the money, but also to keep me busy so I don’t think about things. Of course, that’s not working becuz I don’t get the calls from you telling me that…

<20:02>

(CONT)…there’s menudo at the house if I want to stop by and eat. Speaking of, I had a Kirin and sushi for lunch today, so don’t worry. I am eating.

Yo, mom. You know how I’m always talking about japan and how I want to be a designer over there? Well, I’m not any closer to setting up hq there, but I got some of my designs mentioned on some hip-hop blogs over there (here too). That actually happened back in april, but I never told you about it. I don’t know. I just didn’t want to have to explain it. Oh, and I won a “Poli” for some political campaigns I designed for last year.

You know what’s funny, but really wack? You know that billboard on miramar rd by sunshine auto repair? That shit had been empty for awhile and I had planned to rent space on it and surprise you with your favorite picture of yourself on it. As usual, I lagged and it’s too late to execute that plan. I still want to get that spot…

<20:22>

(CONT)…spot for you though.

There’s so much I want to tell you and talk with you about. So, if sightings and taps is true, one day I know ill be able to.

I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to post this letter on my site just like I did on my aol homepage back when I was DJPuree. Since you’re floating about the universe somewhere, I can bank on this getting to you through electronic means like how they sent Jodie Foster a message on Contact.

Tell Michael Jackson I said, “yo” and that I’ve been showing vince how to moonwalk.

I haven’t run out of things to say, but its getting late and I gotta get home. Til next time. I’m going to pour out some Pepsi (not feelin’ the new branding, btw) for you.

E


0 Responses to “Dear Mom…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

THIS BLOG IS CURRENTLY ARCHIVE. DIRECTLY BELOW, PLEASE FIND THE FEED TO MY NEW BLOG… RBST.WORDPRESS.COM
The "Blogification" is my online portfolio. I hold no affiliation with any of the entities mentioned on this blog unless otherwise stated. It's a design blog, people. Relax.

For design quoting or other info, please email me at contact@robeast.com.

ROBEAST.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 515 other followers

@RBSTweet://

wordpress stat

